Ignaz Günther

Two Putti in Flight
c. 1765
Lindenwood, remains of original paint, length c. 75.5 and 81.5 cm
Play

The Ludwig Celebration

Munich 1968

A Major Anniversary

Ludwig Karl August von Wittelsbach was born in 1786 in Strasbourg. Crowned King of Bavaria in 1825, Ludwig I was utterly committed to the Neoclassicist zeitgeist and an ardent admirer of Ancient Greece. This is reflected in his architectural remodelling of the Bavarian capital that characterises Munich to this day. The Ludwigstrasse with the university, the Ludwigskirche, the Feldherrenhalle (Field Marshals’ Hall), the Siegestor (Victory Arch), the Königsplatz with its historicising buildings, the Alte Pinakothek and many others were constructed during Ludwig’s reign. His importance as a patron of the arts and promotor of industry is immense. The centenary celebration was planned for 1886 but, due to the unfortunate death of Ludwig II, was moved to 1888. With this celebration Munich wanted to express its gratitude for all things ‘beautiful and great’ that King Ludwig had ‘lavishly’ given the city, as one contemporary writer remarked.

The Radspieler Company

Royal Dreams

The Orient in Bavaria

The Radspieler Company, that decorated the gilders’ carriage with historical angels, was among the leading craftsman’s companies in the royal city. It made the throne for King Ludwig II and was also involved in work on the winter garden in the oriental style above the Court Garden wing of the Residenz. Planned step by step from 1867 onwards and enlarged several times, an 80-metre-long structure was finally built for which the Royal Inspector of the Court Garden, Carl Effner, was responsible. A large ‘lake’ with rowing boats, accessible decorative stage sets with palms and tropical plants created an exotic atmosphere in which Ludwig II could dream of foreign lands. The winter garden was abandoned after Ludwig’s death and the remains of the complex on the roof of the Residenz destroyed during World War II.

Putti

Happy Children

In a Heavenly Realm

The two putti that Ignaz Günther created, in all probability for the Knöbl family chapel, are realistically depicted little girls: only their wings point to their celestial connection. The well-nourished children with their round, chubby-cheeked faces embody a typical schema of child-like characteristics that remind observers of their own childhood or their own children, elicit a smile and exude a carefree, happy atmosphere. Child-like figures such as these two putti symbolise a sense of ease that contrasts with the solemnity in the church’s message of salvation. Putti were incidentally not an invention of the Catholic Church but have been familiar since Antiquity when figures of young boys represented the god of love – Amor or Cupid.

Ignaz Günther

Zwei fliegende Putten
Um 1765
Lindenholz, Reste der originalen Fassung, Länge c. 75,5 und 81,5 cm
Play

Das Ludwigsfest

München 1888

Ein großes Jubiläum

Im Jahr 1786 kam in Straßburg Ludwig Karl August von Wittelsbach zur Welt. 1825 zum König von Bayern gekrönt, war Ludwig I ganz dem Zeitgeist des Klassizismus verpflichtet und ein glühender Verehrer des antiken Griechenlands. Dies spiegelt auch die architektonische Umgestaltung der bayrischen Hauptstadt wieder, bis heute charakteristisch für München. Ludwigstraße mit Universität, Ludwigskirche, Feldherrenhalle, Siegestor, Königsplatz mit historisierenden Bauten, die Alte Pinakothek und viele mehr entstanden unter Ludwigs Regierung. Auch als Förderer der Künste und der Wirtschaft kommt ihm eine große Bedeutung zu. Bereits für 1886 war die Centenarsfeier geplant, aber aufgrund des unglücklichen Todes Ludwigs II auf 1888 verschoben. Die Stadt München wollte durch diese Feier Dank für das „Schöne und Große“ ausdrücken, womit König Ludwig die Stadt „überreich“ beschenkt hatte, wie ein zeitgenössischer Publizist bemerkte.

Firma Radspieler

Königliche Träume

Orient in Bayern

Die Firma Radspieler, die den Wagen der Vergolder mit historischen Engeln schmückte, gehörte zu den führenden Handwerksbetrieben der Residenzstadt. Für König Ludwig II fertigte sie den Thronsessel, war aber auch an den Arbeiten für den Wintergarten in orientalischem Stil über dem Hofgartentrakt der Residenz beteiligt. Ab 1867 schrittweise geplant und mehrfach vergrößert, entstand schließlich eine 80 Meter lange Anlage, für die Hofgarteninspektor Carl Effner verantwortlich war. Ein großer See mit Ruderboot, begehbare Staffagebauten unter Palmen und tropischen Pflanzen schufen eine exotische Atmosphäre, in der sich Ludwig II. in fremde Länder träumen konnte. Der Wintergarten wurde nach dem Tod Ludwigs aufgegeben, die Reste der Anlage auf dem Dach der Residenz im 2. Weltkrieg von Bomben zerstört.

Putten

Glückliche Kinder

Im himmlischen Raum

Die beiden Putten, die Ignaz Günther wohl für die Kapelle der Familie Knöbl geschaffen hat, sind lebensnah dargestellte kleine Mädchen:  Nur die Flügel weisen auf ihre himmlische Zugehörigkeit hin. Ihre wohlgenährten Kinderkörper, die runden, pausbäckigen Gesichter, verkörpern ein typisches Kindchenschema, das den Betrachter an seine eigene Kindheit oder seine eigenen Kinder erinnert, ihm ein Lächeln entlocken und froh zu stimmen vermag. Kindliche Figuren wie die beiden Putti symbolisieren eine Leichtigkeit, die im Gegensatz zu der ernsten Heilsbotschaft der Kirche steht. Putten wurden übrigens nicht von der katholischen Kirche erfunden, sondern sind bereits seit der Antike bekannt. Dort stellten Knabenfiguren den Liebesgott Amor oder Cupido dar.